Roundup: Hall of fame inductees / Last video store / Housing starts

    Honored: The LSU E.J. Ourso College of Business has announced the members of its 2020 Hall of Distinction Class: Dal Miller, Kathleen L. Quirk, Robert K. Reeves and M. Jack Sanders. This year’s class will be inducted at the Hall of Distinction Banquet, which the college will host at the Business Education Complex on Friday, April 3. Read the full announcement. 

    Last one standing: The West Monroe National Video store may be the last stand-alone video rental store in Louisiana, The News Star reports. Owner Steve Chambliss opened the store 20 years ago and says he has managed to keep it open by expanding offerings and services. Read the full story. 

    Building: Construction of new homes edged back slightly in January after a December surge that pushed home construction to the highest level in 13 years, according to a report from the Commerce Department. Builders started construction on 1.57 million homes at a seasonally adjusted annual rate, a decline of 3.6% from 1.63 million units in December. That had been the highest point since late 2006 at the peak of the housing boom of the last decade. Read the full report.  

    View Comments