Your Business

Your Business


• Bumble Lane Spa has opened its second location, in the Hilton Baton Rouge Capitol Center. The spa is going into the space formerly occupied by Atelier Rouge, which closed in February. Bumble Lane will offer manicures, pedicures, massages, facials and makeup application. The spa will be open Monday through Saturday.

• Coburn Supply Company will build an 11,000-square-foot kitchen and bath showroom at 11930 Airline Hwy. The $1 million building is expected to open in June, and the company plans to add four employees.

• Gaubert Oil, a Thibodaux-based fuel distributor, has purchased 8.8 acres in the Donaldsonville Technology and Industrial Park. Gaubert, which runs a chain of convenience stores across south Louisiana and supplies fuels and grease to industrial clients, plans to open a distribution center on the site.

• KWATT Electric has launched its website,, as an information portal for electrical safety and home improvement tips.

• Patrick Broyles, an attorney with Moore, Thompson, Lee & Broyles, has opened his own law office downtown. Broyles' office is in the American Gateway Bank building on Fourth Street. He will continue to represent clients in personal injury, commercial and complex civil litigation, and he also will offer consulting services and risk management for businesses and health-care providers in areas where the potential for litigation exists.


• Col. Joseph Booth, executive director of the LSU Stephenson Disaster Management Institute, has been asked to join the new Center for Strategic and International Studies task force addressing U.S.-Japan cooperation. This initiative, titled "Partnership for Recovery and a Stronger Future: Task Force on U.S.-Japan Cooperation after 3/11," is in collaboration with the Japan Business Federation [Keidanren].

• Donald Bohach has been named to the Greater Baton Rouge Port Commission by Gov. Bobby Jindal. Bohach, the vice president of marketing for Stupp Corp., was selected by the East Baton Rouge Parish legislative delegation. He replaces Kirt Bennett, a former port commissioner, who died last year.

• Dr. William A. Hadlock, a Baton Rouge general dentist, has been installed as president of the Louisiana Dental Association for 2011-12.

• Girl Scouts Louisiana East has elected officers and members at large to its board of directors. Officers are: Jacquelyn Daniels, president; Linda Law Clark, first vice chair; Melinda Bourgeois, second vice chair; Robyn Merrick, secretary; and Peggy Armstrong, treasurer. Members serving a one-year term are: Patricia Day, Anne LeBlanc, Ethel Madden, Kizzy Payton and Margie Loud Zeno. Members serving a two-year term are: Tressa Fuller, Trese Taquino-Hood, Lyndia Jones, Julie LeBlanc and Carolyn Morris. Members serving a three-year term are: Angela Ashner-Cage, Kelly Dolese, Glenna Fallin and Veronica Osby.

• The Louisiana Credit Union League has elected its board of directors for 2011-13. Capital Region members are: Virgil Allen, Eldridge Etienne, Kathi Gill and Ginger Manint.

• The Public Affairs Research Council of Louisiana has elected its board of directors for 2011-12. Officers are: R. Hunter Pierson Jr., chairman; Richard B. Crowell, vice chairman; Jacob Giardina, secretary; and Allan Bissinger, treasurer. Members are: Stephanie Cargile, Blake Chatelain, Beth Courtney, Fred Loy, Henson Moore, Freddie Pitcher Jr., Donald Washington and Luis Zervigon.

• Ryan Perkins, a student at the LSU Health Sciences Center Shreveport, where he serves as the student government association president, has been elected to a one-year term as the student member of the LSU Board of Supervisors.


• Dr. Albert N. Swafford Jr., physiology professor at Our Lady of the Lake College, has been named 2011 Didactic Instructor of the Year by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. The honor recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the education of student nurse anesthetists in the classroom.

• Annette Yancy, a counselor in the LSU University College Center for Advising and Counseling, has been selected as the LSU Advisor of the Year for 2010-11. The honor recognizes a staff member whose primary responsibility is academic advising.

• Dr. Charles H. Williamson of the Williamson Eye Center has been recognized by Bausch + Lomb as one of the top three surgeons in the country who are performing Crystalens cataract surgery.

• Hancock Bank has been named a Five-Star Superior Bank by BauerFinancial. The honor recognizes the nation's most financially sound banks.

• Louisiana Economic Development has been ranked as the country's best state economic development agency by Site Selection magazine. The recognition comes one year after the agency broke into the top 10. The rankings are determined by 10 factors, including new and expanded facilities, total capital investment and new jobs created.

• Lt. Gov. Jay Dardenne has received the 2011 Legislative Award from the Louisiana Trust for Historic Preservation. The honor recognizes dedication to the preservation of the state's cultural heritage and historic resources.

• Mary Ballard, interim assistant dean of the Southeastern Louisiana University College of Education and Human Development, has received the Outstanding Leadership Award from the International Association of Marriage and Family Counseling. The honor recognizes individuals whose service to the organization has gone above and beyond the prescribed duties.

• Pam Blanchard, associate professor in the College of Education's Department of Educational Theory, Policy, and Practice and director of the LSU Coastal Roots Program, has received a Coastal Stewardship Award from the Coalition to Restore Coastal Louisiana. The honor recognizes an individual or group who has made a significant contribution to the preservation and restoration of Louisiana's coastal wetlands.

• Sandra S. Harper, president of Our Lady of the Lake College, has been named as a 2011 Distinguished Alumna in the College of Education at Texas Tech University. Harper graduated from the university in 1974 with a bachelor's degree in secondary education in English and speech.

• Sharon Williams Andrews, instructor in the LSU College of Humanities & Social Sciences' Department of English, has received the Outstanding Faculty Contributions to Service-Learning Award.

• Sherry L. Phillips-Hymel, chief budget analyst and director of the Fiscal Services Division for the Louisiana State Senate, has been named Master of Public Administration Alumna of the Year by the Public Administration Institute at LSU's E.J. Ourso College of Business.

• St. Elizabeth Hospital has received the 2010 Apex Workplace of Distinction Award from Morehead Associates. The honor recognizes clients who have reached and sustained at least the 90th percentile on their employee surveys.


• The LSU Louisiana Business and Technology Center Mobile Classroom has received $200,000 and the Louisiana Seafood Promo Market Board/Louisiana Wildlife and Fisheries Foundation has received $315,000 in Economic Development Administration grants from the U.S. Department of Commerce to assist businesses and communities affected by the Deepwater Horizon oil spill.

comments powered by Disqus